Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > Developer Discussion > XML modification help.
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2002, 05:45 PM   #1
Irras
A Hill Giant
 
Irras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Zebuxxoruk
Posts: 31
Default Moving player name

Anyone know how to move your surname to the right of your first name instead of below it?
Irras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 05:53 PM   #2
guice
Keeper of the Hampster
 
guice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Mithaniel Marr
Posts: 598
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via AIM to guice Send a message via Yahoo to guice
Default

Hard to say .. Actually there 'Might' be a way, if you turn off wrapping.

Then again, VI could have hard coded that to be that way, too.
__________________
Sithr, 65th Transcendent
Officer/Leader of Chronology
Mithaniel Marr
http://www.chronology-guild.org/
guice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 04:16 AM   #3
Irras
A Hill Giant
 
Irras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Zebuxxoruk
Posts: 31
Default

Well I noticed that the name can be removed, how is that done?
I'd like to keep the name up there, but the player info box takes up too much vertical space with the surname below
Irras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 04:28 AM   #4
guice
Keeper of the Hampster
 
guice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Mithaniel Marr
Posts: 598
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via AIM to guice Send a message via Yahoo to guice
Default

Removing the Surname requires hiding it. In reality your HP par has a "built in" lable tag. That's the name your see in the Player Info window.

To remove it, change the size of the HP bar to 108x8. *Edit* Oops, forgot. Also change the TextOffsetY to 30 or something greater than 9.

Now, to Put your name back in. This requires creating a new Lable of EQType 1. Create that and just place it back up top there. X,Y cords will be 3,0.

I forget the size though. To test that, keep out the EQType tag and it will place Player123456 in there. Size it until it works for you, then put back in EQType.

Hope that helps ...

*Quick Epic .. see above*
guice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 04:33 AM   #5
Irras
A Hill Giant
 
Irras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Zebuxxoruk
Posts: 31
Default

I think I got all that... but I'm only able to mod what is already there, i've never made a new line of code. Could you lay that out for me? Thanks for the fast reply btw
Irras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 04:44 AM   #6
Irras
A Hill Giant
 
Irras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Zebuxxoruk
Posts: 31
Default

I think I got all that... but I'm only able to mod what is already there, i've never made a new line of code. Could you lay that out for me? Thanks for the fast reply btw
Irras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 04:46 AM   #7
guice
Keeper of the Hampster
 
guice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Mithaniel Marr
Posts: 598
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via AIM to guice Send a message via Yahoo to guice
Default

quite simply, you need to add this to your PlayerWindow file:

Code:
<Label item="GP_Name"> <ScreenID>GPName</ScreenID> <Font>2</Font> <RelativePosition>true</RelativePosition> <Location> <X>3</X> <Y>0</Y> </Location> <Size> <CX>79</CX> <CY>14</CY> </Size> <EQType>1</EQType> <Text>Playername123346</Text> <TextColor> <R>255</R> <G>255</G> <B>255</B> </TextColor> <AlignLeft>true</AlignLeft> <NoWrap>false</NoWrap> </Label>


You can Change the Item and ScreenID value to what ever you want. I just copied it from my mod and I use GP_ as a self identifier of my custom additions.
guice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 04:59 AM   #8
Irras
A Hill Giant
 
Irras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Zebuxxoruk
Posts: 31
Default

Excellent, thank you very much
Irras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 07:32 AM   #9
Irras
A Hill Giant
 
Irras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Zebuxxoruk
Posts: 31
Default

I just tried that out and it didn't work out very well... the last name appeared over the first name, and the HP bar disappeared altogether. If anyone has a Playerwindow like this, or can make one, please post it.


What I'm trying to do is keep the window around this vertical height.

- <Screen item="PlayerWindow">
- <!-- <ScreenID/>
-->
<RelativePosition>false</RelativePosition>
- <Location>
<X>516</X>
<Y>0</Y>
</Location>
- <Size>
<CX>140</CX>
<CY>75</CY>
</Size>

I think that's the info you would need. Even moving the bars closer together could help.
This is what I would like it to look like.
V

Last edited by Irras : 08-03-2002 at 07:39 AM.
Irras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 08:58 AM   #10
Drakah
Skinning Guru
 
Drakah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,076
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default I Agree

I tried but couldnt either. Now that I am making a new ui this would help tremendously to fit things better.
Drakah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2002, 05:21 PM   #11
guice
Keeper of the Hampster
 
guice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Mithaniel Marr
Posts: 598
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via AIM to guice Send a message via Yahoo to guice
Default

Actually, the PlayerWindow Screen is completely relevent with this mod.

What you want is the Player_HP gauge.

And that window has a bit more than just a Name change in it.

Take a look at the tags in the Player_HP gauge. They are all completely self explanitory. Maybe there's an OffsetY or X for the gauge as well I forgot about.

It's been a while since I made this mod. Take a look, it's not that hard to figure out. Just a lot of text, but like reading HTML.
guice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 03:03 AM   #12
Irras
A Hill Giant
 
Irras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Zebuxxoruk
Posts: 31
Default

I used to know all this stuff, but it's been so long I forget everything... I actually had to post on how to get my signature picture. I look at an XML file and not all of it is self explainatory. Like Relative Position.... No idea what that is. And the offsets that you mentioned...lost there too...I guess I'll just keep checking the sites to see if anyone else makes it.
__________________
Navarro: Knowledge of this type can only be used for evil...
Irras : Be it good or evil, I will use it to reward those who oppose me...

Irras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 03:13 AM   #13
guice
Keeper of the Hampster
 
guice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Mithaniel Marr
Posts: 598
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via AIM to guice Send a message via Yahoo to guice
Default

Offset is just that .. an Offset from the original position given ( <Location> ).

Relative - Relative to the Window you're in. Turn it off and reload your skin. And take a look. Then you'll see what that means.


If you ever wonder what an element is for, change it, reload the skin and look. Nothing more. Some are easy, some requires tinking a bit.

trust me ... I've just spent 3+ hours tinking with the freeking borders in EQ. It's a long pain processes ...
Good thing I don't have EQ to distract me ( this system can't play EQ, only load it enough to play with UI. ).

guice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 11:05 AM   #14
Daneel
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Default

I've been trying to put my full name on a single line in the player window since the UI was released. I'm sure its not a modification of the Player_HP gauge but I could be wrong. As Irras' attachment shows above, it appears to be possible.

I've seen numerous mods that have the player first name on a line without the surname at all. Although I can copy and paste code that does that for me, I still don't understand how it works. I think the first name is attached the Player_HPNumber (EQType 17).

Please post any other ideas you have for this. It's driving me nuts right now.
Daneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 04:00 PM   #15
Mafoo
A Shissar Disciple
 
Mafoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 108
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Lightbulb Hmm such a gauntlet i cannot resist!

i have some ideas!
let me see what i can do!
Mafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI