Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > Developer Discussion > XML modification help.
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2004, 09:47 PM   #16
Haliken
Quintessence of EQUI XML
 
Haliken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 773
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Quote:
If you instead create your own EQUI.xml that just has an "include" for ../default/EQUI.xml and then any additional XML files unique to your UI, when SOE adds a new window to the game your UI will automatically pick it up since it pulls from the default EQUI.xml file.


The reason T does this is so there are NO warnings in the UIErrors.txt file, not even "loading from default" warnings. So this technically makes load time faster. But the rewards are negligible compared to having to patch the custom EQUI.xml every time SOE adds a window (like you said Lodi Dodi).

Lanandor -
Is your custom UI folder in the right place? I'm wondering if you put the custom folder under skins instead of uifiles? Are you using the in-game /laodskin window, or the /-command of /loadskin lan? Are there any spaces in your custom UI folder name?

All you SHOULD need in your custom UI folder is the 8 modded XML, then use /load lan (assuming lan is your custom UI folder name) and it'll work.

Enok
Haliken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 09:56 PM   #17
Taleisin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ran and tested it... he had a duplicate entry of the casting gauge in the castwindow and the castingwindow.

this files in this zip will run as is but 2 things.

1. the group window is out of date, it will run but needs label correction

2. you will see errors when running this UI..

DIE ERRORS DIE.. I'm going to stop the graphics error dump on beta 4 of Avalon
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 11:25 PM   #18
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,866
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

/beats Talesin over the head with a very large stick.

They are not "errors". They are warning messages. They are supposed to be there. Grrrrr.

(PS don't mind us, Talesin and I get into this particular little ... discussion ... frequently )
__________________
"My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us
be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world."


Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RafM
Cairenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 11:27 PM   #19
Lanandor
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

That made sense so I created the following EQUI.xml in my /Lan folder

**********
<?xml version = "1.0"?>
<!-- Monolithic Parameter File -->
<!-- The composite section must come first and be followed by the schema -->

<!-- defines for gauges set the EQType tag in Gauge definitions to one of these numbers -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP 1 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_MANA 2 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_STAMINA 3 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_EXP 4 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_ALTEXP 5 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_TARGET 6 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_CASTING 7 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_BREATH 8 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_MEMORIZE 9 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_SCRIBE 10 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY1 11 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY2 12 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY3 13 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY4 14 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY5 15 -->

<XML ID = "EQInterfaceDefinitionLanguage">
<Composite>
<Include>../default/EQUI.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_PlayerWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_TargetWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_CastingWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_GroupWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_CastSpellWnd.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_FeedbackWnd.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_HotButtonWnd.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_MerchantWnd.xml</Include>
</Composite>
<Schema xmlns = "EverQuestData" xmlns:dt = "EverQuestDataTypes"/>
</XML>

*****************************

When I loaded the skin it still only gave me the default UI and non of these were loaded.
Lanandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 11:27 PM   #20
Taleisin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cairenn
/beats Talesin over the head with a very large stick.

They are not "errors". They are warning messages. They are supposed to be there. Grrrrr.


~cringes and corrects his "error"~
~bandages his head~
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 11:32 PM   #21
Taleisin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lanandor
That made sense so I created the following EQUI.xml in my /Lan folder

**********
<?xml version = "1.0"?>
<!-- Monolithic Parameter File -->
<!-- The composite section must come first and be followed by the schema -->

<!-- defines for gauges set the EQType tag in Gauge definitions to one of these numbers -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP 1 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_MANA 2 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_STAMINA 3 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_EXP 4 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_ALTEXP 5 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_TARGET 6 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_CASTING 7 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_BREATH 8 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_MEMORIZE 9 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_SCRIBE 10 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY1 11 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY2 12 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY3 13 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY4 14 -->
<!-- GAUGETYPE_HP_PARTY5 15 -->

<XML ID = "EQInterfaceDefinitionLanguage">
<Composite>
<Include>../default/EQUI.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_PlayerWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_TargetWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_CastingWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_GroupWindow.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_CastSpellWnd.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_FeedbackWnd.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_HotButtonWnd.xml</Include>
<Include>EQUI_MerchantWnd.xml</Include>
</Composite>
<Schema xmlns = "EverQuestData" xmlns:dt = "EverQuestDataTypes"/>
</XML>

*****************************

When I loaded the skin it still only gave me the default UI and non of these were loaded.


I did this too when I was fixing your files, what I found out is it loads the playerwindow from the default as well as the modded one, it will appear as duplicate entries in the UIerror.txt ( I found this out because no matter what I renamed the first label inside the player window it found a duplicate entry )

This is another reason I make my loaders like I do
/evade cairenn&enok's attacks

for now run the mods without the EQUI.xml

**
if you do want to have a EQUI.xml in your mod try this out
move
<Include>../default/EQUI.xml</Include>
to the bottom of the <Include>'s list and it just might load your modded windows first and ignore the ones in the EQUI.xml from the default window.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 11:34 PM   #22
Lanandor
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

yes my folder Lan is under uifiles not skins
same level as default

and i do have a duplicate casting bar, forgot about that.
Had been commenting out the one in EQUI.xml

Not sure why it keeps giving me the default.
I'm using these same files in another UI folder that has all default copied into it and they work fine.

Thanks to you all for all your help and time

Lan
Lanandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 11:36 PM   #23
Taleisin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

did you try out the fix I posted?

Tal's Fix
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 12:08 AM   #24
Lanandor
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks Taleisin your fixes worked.
So Hal was right all along about only needing those eight files in the ui folder. Was a coding problem.

I'll have to go thru them to find what you changed.
Not sure what is different but thanks for taking the time.

I know have a folder with just those eight files and it works.

Thanks much to everyone ,

Lan

Last edited by Lanandor : 06-09-2004 at 12:32 AM.
Lanandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI