Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > Tutorials & Info. > Misc Tutorials & Info.
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2002, 01:36 PM   #1
NightWolf
An Icepaw Kobold
 
NightWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Stormhammer
Posts: 80
Lightbulb Instantly increase productivity

Most of you probably already use this, but if you don't, this can be a heavy time saver.
I just started messing with the gui last night and discovered this, but couldn't get to website so this is my first chance to post.

This only works if you have two computers networked together, which most of you probably have.

For this example, Computer 1 will be the computer you play EQ on and Computer 2 will be the production computer. "Mine" will be the name of the mod that we use.

Ok, first, share your Everquest folder on Computer 1 over the network (you could just share the mod directory, but then you wouldn't have access to uierrors.txt)

Now, log in to the game with Computer 1.

On computer 2, pull up the Everquest directory from Computer 1 (using the network of course) and the developing tools you use to create your mods.

Here is the cool part, Everquest allows you to modify the files while in game, so you can edit the .XML files on Computer 1 (thru using Computer 2) without crashing the game (I think you see where I'm going with this).

So, make a hotkey on your character logged in on Computer 1 that's titled "Mine" and have it type "/loadskin Mine 1".

Now, all you have to do is edit the XML in Computer 1's Mine folder using your second computer, hit save, and press the "Mine" hotkey on your first computer.

Violla, You can now see the changes you made to your window imediately, while still in production.

For those of you who constantly log on and off to check changes, this will save you a lifetime, and the mods that you develope will be near bugless since you can check the changes while still writing the code.

P.S. Since you're sharing the whole EQ directory, if there is some problem loading your skin and it loads the default back, you can get access to the uierrors.txt file as soon as it's writen and fix the problem without logging out.

Hope this helps everyone.
NightWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2002, 01:51 PM   #2
NightWolf
An Icepaw Kobold
 
NightWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Stormhammer
Posts: 80
Default !

!

Last edited by NightWolf : 08-25-2002 at 02:06 PM.
NightWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2002, 01:59 PM   #3
Kelorn
A Ghoul
 
Kelorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Povar
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to Kelorn Send a message via AIM to Kelorn Send a message via Yahoo to Kelorn
Default

It's a great idea and thats how I've been working on my melee UI. Even though it was very simple, I saved atleast an hour by working on it from my computer and testing it from my brothers.

Right now I'm working on a completely new UI based on windows XP. Since I don't want to log every time I need to fix something, I'll just use my brother's computer again. (we have all our hard drives shared anyway)

Good to see I'm not the only one that thought of this.
__________________

My Inventory
Kelorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2002, 02:09 PM   #4
NightWolf
An Icepaw Kobold
 
NightWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Stormhammer
Posts: 80
Default OMG

My God, this board is awesome, just posted and there are already 73 views (some are probably duplicates though). But man.... this is my new homepage now.
NightWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2002, 02:16 PM   #5
Chadoz
A Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: Mith-Mar
Posts: 38
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via ICQ to Chadoz Send a message via AIM to Chadoz Send a message via Yahoo to Chadoz
Default

Great idea.........Now I have a reason to put that old 486 on my network.

love this little guy
__________________
If it aint broke mod it.
--Cut, paste,spellcheck,cut,paste :) --
Chadoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2002, 05:46 PM   #6
andara
A Treant
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 24
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

this is what I do when the other 2 eq addicts aren't at home
andara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2002, 06:38 PM   #7
weab
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2
Default

don't forget eqw, can do the same thing with only one comp.
weab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2002, 06:59 PM   #8
Tipop
A Snow Griffin
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 51
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

That's how I test my mods... EQW. I do have a second computer on my network here, but that one is always busy being used for other things.

And no, I have never heard anything about EQW being a problem with Verant. A lot of people buy second accounts because of EQW, so I don't think they are particularly worried about it.
Tipop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2002, 07:19 PM   #9
Conen
A Treant
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Default

EQW?

Sorry to sound like a noob but what is EQW?
Conen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2002, 07:24 PM   #10
Conen
A Treant
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Default

Hheh nm just found it


All I can say is OMG


Thank you for pointing this program out hehe its VERY VERY nice
Conen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2002, 01:37 AM   #11
guice
Keeper of the Hampster
 
guice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Mithaniel Marr
Posts: 598
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via AIM to guice Send a message via Yahoo to guice
Default

Quote:
EQW?

Sorry to sound like a noob but what is EQW?


If I tell ya, I'll have to kill you. Serious.

Since you've found it. Time for you to join the club, don't tell a soul and you're in!
__________________
Sithr, 65th Transcendent
Officer/Leader of Chronology
Mithaniel Marr
http://www.chronology-guild.org/
guice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2002, 01:56 AM   #12
Kwaidan
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: AB
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

EQW also rocks when playing vendor in the bazaar
Kwaidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2002, 02:27 AM   #13
Kudane
Co-Founder
 
Kudane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Xegony
Posts: 2,145
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

link removed - you should know better kudane

check there.. see what you find..

Kudane
Kudane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2002, 02:32 AM   #14
Dolby
Lord Dolby of Veeshan
 
Dolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Veeshan
Posts: 2,396
Default

Dont care if you talk about it... just dont link it please. It is Techicaly against Verants EULA for Everquest. Although I do hear they dont really care.
Dolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2002, 09:53 AM   #15
oakwood
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 8
Default

need a little help with the sharing of the eq directory.

current setup:
2 computers, both winxp pro
linksys router

eq is played on comp1, editing will be done on comp2

comp1 has sharing on for c:\, program files folder, and everquest folder

comp2 can connect using my network places, can access the root drive, my shared folder, and shared documents folder.

try to open program files i get the following message:
"\\comp1\program files is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions.

Access is denied."

what am i doing wrong here?

Thanks
oakwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI