Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > General Discussion > Chit Chat
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2023, 03:35 AM   #1
Anatis
A Treant
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Server: Not tellin :)
Posts: 25
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Question Dragging Hotbar item leaves ghost

I'm having an issue (not UI dependent, tried several, but not sure on default as I don't use it) in where if I drag a button from one hotbar to another -- I'm left with shadows/ghosts of that button all over the place.
Same if I drag an item from an inventory window to a hotbar. See screenshot
Currently using Drakah LoE, but also happens on TKing version.

Any idea what might be causing this?
It's driving me mad and I'd love to know what causes it / fix it.

Also, the quest overlay window keeps disappearing. I like seeing the steps in a mission, and it's constantly closing itself. :/
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EQ000006.jpg (337.4 KB, 14 views)
Anatis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2023, 05:14 AM   #2
Anatis
A Treant
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Server: Not tellin :)
Posts: 25
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Scaling does it.
I thought I'd reset it, but apparently not.
Once I went back to 1.00 the problem went away.
What a nightmare...

I won't delete the post just in case anyone else has that problem.

(Still like to know how I can keep my quest overlay window though lol)
Anatis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2023, 07:24 AM   #3
Emilari
A Snow Cougar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 45
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

This is an issue with the default UI. See Here.

Also, at this time, I haven't seen a single custom UI updated for use with the new engine on this site yet. Scaling is therefore not yet supported by the EQI community.
Emilari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2023, 03:27 PM   #4
Angahran
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 360
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emilari
This is an issue with the default UI. See Here.

Also, at this time, I haven't seen a single custom UI updated for use with the new engine on this site yet. Scaling is therefore not yet supported by the EQI community.


Until there is an actual working 'default' UI using the new engine it's doubtful there will be any custom UIs using it.

For my UI I have taken the old default versions of the 4 'converted' windows and added them if I didn't already have custom versions just so the new engine is not being used.
__________________
My UI files.
Angahran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2023, 07:19 PM   #5
Emilari
A Snow Cougar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 45
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angahran
Until there is an actual working 'default' UI using the new engine it's doubtful there will be any custom UIs using it.

For my UI I have taken the old default versions of the 4 'converted' windows and added them if I didn't already have custom versions just so the new engine is not being used.


I'm well aware of that Ang... but the bug the OP is complaining about is an issue with the default UI that is also cropping up in custom UI's for people trying to use the new scaling feature despite scaling pieces not being introduced in any custom UI's yet.

The default scaled to anything other than 1.0 (100% - default) is causing the graphics to leave ghost images all over the place, and anyone that tries to force (usually by making changes in their ini file) a custom UI that either doesn't contain those windows (so it's pulling the NEW default ones which do scale, but are afflicted with this bug), or forcing custom xml files to scale (which shouldn't be possible period) is also experiencing the issue.

Drakah's UI's (which the OP uses) have not been updated for scalable windows - therefore anything other than 1.0 (100% - default) forced in the ini file will cause this ghosting issue amongst other bugs.

The solution for custom UI users? Don't use scaling because it's not implemented yet.

The solution for default UI users? go to the bug reports forum and up-vote the bug so hopefully they fix it.
Emilari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2023, 01:31 PM   #6
mh272
A Shissar Disciple
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 128
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

I am surprised everyone is overlooking the fact that you can't have a custom folder in uiresources.. meaning you can't have a folder called VertUI, Sparxx, Test, or whatever you want it called. It's ignored and just loads default.

You have to copy everything you do into default, and that is not good.

If the above issue is solved, I would put out something.
mh272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2023, 01:55 PM   #7
Emilari
A Snow Cougar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 45
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mh272
I am surprised everyone is overlooking the fact that you can't have a custom folder in uiresources.. meaning you can't have a folder called VertUI, Sparxx, Test, or whatever you want it called. It's ignored and just loads default.

You have to copy everything you do into default, and that is not good.

If the above issue is solved, I would put out something.


That is an issue thats been on my radar. I could swear I'd seen, commented and liked a bug report for it but I can't find it now of course.

If nobody gets around to it I'll make one after I'm done my workday.
Emilari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2023, 03:42 PM   #8
mh272
A Shissar Disciple
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 128
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emilari
That is an issue thats been on my radar. I could swear I'd seen, commented and liked a bug report for it but I can't find it now of course.

If nobody gets around to it I'll make one after I'm done my workday.


I know Drakah has said something. I said something very early on after release back at the end of march.

But other than that, it's really not been mentioned by anyone else that I have seen.

I know that are a lot of problems right now, but for custom ui's, this the biggest problem in my opinion.

Last edited by mh272 : 06-02-2023 at 03:50 PM.
mh272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2023, 10:15 PM   #9
Emilari
A Snow Cougar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 45
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

I made a bug thread HERE. Hopefully, it can get some traction.
Emilari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2023, 12:02 AM   #10
Emilari
A Snow Cougar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 45
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mh272
I know Drakah has said something. I said something very early on after release back at the end of march.

But other than that, it's really not been mentioned by anyone else that I have seen.

I know that are a lot of problems right now, but for custom ui's, this the biggest problem in my opinion.


It seems to be fixed for the moment. I'm not sure what Niente did... but it wasn't working for me Friday, and it is working today. Here's hoping it doesn't get un-fixed like the powersource percentage bars did!
Emilari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2023, 09:24 AM   #11
mh272
A Shissar Disciple
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 128
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emilari
It seems to be fixed for the moment. I'm not sure what Niente did... but it wasn't working for me Friday, and it is working today. Here's hoping it doesn't get un-fixed like the powersource percentage bars did!


I will take a look later today. Thanks Emilari.

EDIT: Not working. It's interesting though.

The below is from custom ui that is in uiresources.

If I do /loadskin and select the ui from the list, it just loads default.

If I do /loadskin <customui>. It just crashes the game.

Oh well...I'm defeated.. lol.. thanks for your efforts Emilari.

Last edited by mh272 : 06-06-2023 at 11:37 AM.
mh272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI