Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > Developer Discussion > General authoring help / discussion
User Name
Password

Old 02-21-2003, 12:52 PM   #1
vbcypher
A Ghoul

Server: Lanys T'val
Send a message via AIM to vbcypher Send a message via Yahoo to vbcypher
Default Getting Started (on it all)

I was wondering if someone could point me to a couple places to get started on using EQ.

Let me restate. I've been "playing" EQ for about 2.5 years now. With all the new skinnable features, abilities to set viewports, etc, etc, etc, I want to start "using" EQ so I can set it up precisely how I want.

Depth of knowledge shouldn't be too much of a problem since i'm a software developer with about seven years experience, so it's not going to go over my head technically...I just cannot find the resources I'm looking for.

IOW (in other words)

I would love it find a site that would go into the details of the new skinnable features and how to set up your own skins. I've just started scouring this site and while I'm starting to make sense of it all I've not yet found a 'starter tutorial' to get me up and running.

I would also love to find a site that goes over some UI best practices and things like that. All I know about EQ is how I've set it up; where I've placed my windows, things like that. I'm sure that there are much better and more efficient ways of handling this and I would love to be clued in.

I would also love to find a site that maybe starts to explain the different files within the EverQuest directory and how to analyse/parse them. I'm sure this rubs real close to EULA from SoE so maybe you can offlist me a link on this one