Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > General Discussion > General UI Talk
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2008, 11:15 PM   #1
stevenklug
A Gray Wolf
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default UI changes on test...

Since I don't seem to have access to post in the SOE corner, I'll post here.

I just wanted to give you all a heads' up that the Test server has some fairly significant UI changes necessitated by the new voice chat feature. There are some new structures in the XML that will need explaining. We'll be putting together a document that describes them soon. In the meantime, my understanding is that some custom UIs are having issues with the changes. So those of you still keeping your UIs up to date may want to login to test and take a crack at fixing them. We will try to fix issues that are on our side, but some if it may require custom UIs to be updated.
stevenklug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 12:26 AM   #2
Xislaben
A Gray Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Looks like the biggest issue will be the EQUI_Animations.XML

Adding this:

Code:
<TextureInfo item="VChat.tga"> <Size> <CX>64</CX> <CY>64</CY> </Size> </TextureInfo>




and:

Code:
<Ui2DAnimation item="A_Speaker"> <Frames> <Texture>VChat.tga</Texture> <Location> <X>0</X> <Y>0</Y> </Location> <Size> <CX>16</CX> <CY>16</CY> </Size> </Frames> </Ui2DAnimation> <Ui2DAnimation item="A_SpeakerMute"> <Frames> <Texture>VChat.tga</Texture> <Location> <X>32</X> <Y>0</Y> </Location> <Size> <CX>16</CX> <CY>16</CY> </Size> </Frames> </Ui2DAnimation> <Ui2DAnimation item="A_Mic"> <Frames> <Texture>VChat.tga</Texture> <Location> <X>0</X> <Y>16</Y> </Location> <Size> <CX>16</CX> <CY>16</CY> </Size> </Frames> </Ui2DAnimation> <Ui2DAnimation item="A_MicMute"> <Frames> <Texture>VChat.tga</Texture> <Location> <X>16</X> <Y>16</Y> </Location> <Size> <CX>16</CX> <CY>16</CY> </Size> </Frames> </Ui2DAnimation> <Ui2DAnimation item="A_Kick"> <Frames> <Texture>VChat.tga</Texture> <Location> <X>32</X> <Y>16</Y> </Location> <Size> <CX>16</CX> <CY>16</CY> </Size> </Frames> </Ui2DAnimation> <Ui2DAnimation item="A_SpeakingIndicator"> <Cycle>true</Cycle> <Grid>true</Grid> <Vertical>false</Vertical> <CellHeight>16</CellHeight> <CellWidth>16</CellWidth> <Frames> <Texture>VChat.tga</Texture> <Location> <X>0</X> <Y>0</Y> </Location> <Size> <CX>64</CX> <CY>64</CY> </Size> </Frames> </Ui2DAnimation>


And maybe copying the VChat.tga over into a custom dir. Not sure if it'll check the default folder for it or not.
Xislaben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 12:45 PM   #3
Kinada
Featured Artist
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 99
Featured Artist
Default

Nah the TGA file should be fine in the default folder.
__________________
Vert - It's whats for dinner
Kinada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 03:10 PM   #4
Savok
On tour since '99
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Innoruuk forever!
Posts: 473
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

UI's are easily updated but I bet we see more vchat.tga files around with better graphics pretty soon..
__________________
Gold: 03/16/99 - 03/15/12 Silver: 03/16/12 - 03/15/18 Done:03/16/18
And with a heavy heart I bid adieu to Everquest Live.
Savok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 09:26 PM   #5
Brighid741
A Tempest Toad
 
Brighid741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Server: The Seventh Hammer
Posts: 463
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Thanks SKlug!
__________________


Brighid741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 07:58 AM   #6
Arslayn
A Gray Wolf
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Server: Saryrn
Posts: 6
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

While I like the feature an really hope I can "tune out" the ppl I dont wanna hear , if the chat goes down with EQ crashes etc I can see alot of ppl just staying with Ventrilo etc....
Arslayn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 05:07 PM   #7
Xislaben
A Gray Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Oh, there's more changes. Modifying the group windows will be fun ><
Xislaben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 09:56 PM   #8
shillingworth
A Predatory Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Server: Bertoxxulous
Posts: 251
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

You are much better off to use a custom include file instead of modding the animation file.

EQUI.xml the right way
Code:
<Composite> <Include>../default/EQUI.xml</Include> <Include>MyAnimations.xml</Include> </Composite>


If you want to override any of the default animations, you can copy and past it into MyAnimations.xml (or whatever you want to name it) and alter it. You will get a red error message when you load the ui, but it should run fine. In all actuality there really are only a handful of things you would have to override an element to change, the rest can be changed just by altering the right stuff.
__________________

"Computers are like Air Conditioners, they stop working properly when you open Windows."
shillingworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:08 PM   #9
Kalthazz
A Weathered Clockwork
 
Kalthazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Server: tunare
Posts: 324
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Send a message via ICQ to Kalthazz Send a message via Yahoo to Kalthazz
Default UI changes on test...

Not going to go well for those of us with UIs where we cant really make too many big or major changes like the group window or anything as mine is like hard coded and trying to change it is not going be easy or fearing it cant be changed too much!
Kalthazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 11:42 AM   #10
Neolithicx
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default

I'm not a coder and don't do XML. This very stripped down version of a UI has served me for years and I am quite concerned over the new changes.

Can you advise me?

There are target window files and UI files. Nothing seems to work on test.

I would greatly appreciate a professional review and advice: Neo.

EQUIActionsWindow.XML
EQUIAnimations.XML
EQUIBigBank.XML
EQUIBuffwindow.XML
EQUIHotbutton.XML
EQUIGroupWindow.XML
EQUIHotButton.XML
EQUIPlayerwindow.XML
EQUITargetWindow.XML

The rest are gems and spells and targetwindows. I can not over-emphasize just how simple this interface is. I have attached files. I hope I can get some help here. I just can't go back after playing this for years and years. =)

I am happy to send you my very simple files for analysis. Thank you very much.

Stacey


Neo
Neolithicx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 01:45 PM   #11
Halelen
Lord Doljonijiarnimorinar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Server: Povar
Posts: 1,047
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

right now biggest thing is the animations file. With it fixed the rest will load (for now). I wouldnt get in too big of a hurry to change anything else because nothing is set yet and you know sony as soon as ya change it they will dump it. Post your animation file here and can get ya up to speed so you can at least run ui.


Hal
Halelen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 11:35 PM   #12
Neolithicx
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default

THANKS !!! POSTING if i can figure it out haha. =)

Ok, it is posted. I zipped it up (Name isn't exact as file name but close).

Appreciate any help.
Attached Files
File Type: zip UIAnimatitions.zip (11.4 KB, 23 views)
Neolithicx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 10:42 AM   #13
Halelen
Lord Doljonijiarnimorinar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Server: Povar
Posts: 1,047
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default Here

Ok try this and let me know

Hal
Attached Files
File Type: zip EQUI_Animations.zip (11.6 KB, 16 views)
Halelen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 06:47 AM   #14
Neolithicx
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Works like a charm !

I hope you did not spend too much time on this. I really appreciate it.

Thank you so much.
Neolithicx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 09:20 AM   #15
Drakah
Skinning Guru
 
Drakah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,076
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Shouldnt be a big deal to edit the UI's.. but I am glad I only have 2 UI's that use that animations file woo woo
__________________
Regards,

Drakah

shakahr.com
Remember...it is only a GAME
Drakah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI