Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > Developer Discussion > XML modification help.
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2002, 05:36 PM   #1
aeluin
Denizen of the Interface
 
aeluin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Tholuxe Paelis
Posts: 279
Send a message via AIM to aeluin
Default SIDL Question

I found this in SIDL.xml:

<ElementType name="SuiteDefaults">
<superType type="Class" />
<element name="DefaultWindowDrawTemplate" type="WindowDrawTemplate:item" />
<element name="CursorDefault" type="Ui2DAnimation:item" />
<element name="CursorResizeNS" type="Ui2DAnimation:item" />
<element name="CursorResizeEW" type="Ui2DAnimation:item" />
<element name="CursorResizeNESW" type="Ui2DAnimation:item" />
<element name="CursorResizeNWSE" type="Ui2DAnimation:item" />
<element name="CursorDrag" type="Ui2DAnimation:item" />
</ElementType>


would I be able to define a CursorDefault Item?
__________________
"All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost; the old that is strong does not wither, deep roots are not reached by the frost. From the ashes a fire shall be woken, a light from the shadows shall spring; renewed shall be blade that was broken, the crownless again shall be king." -Aragorn's Theme by J.R.R. Tolkien
aeluin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 04:48 AM   #2
puddy
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 14
Default

Absolutely...

Just go to your EQUI_Animations.xml file and modify the Ui2DAnimation item = "A_DefaultCursor" to be the cursor that you want to use...

You can either modify the .tga file to reflect the cursor you want to use... or create a new one...

>^,,^<
puddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 10:24 PM   #3
aeluin
Denizen of the Interface
 
aeluin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Tholuxe Paelis
Posts: 279
Send a message via AIM to aeluin
Default

Nonononono!
I want to do this *without* modifying EQUI_Animations. I know how to do it in the animations file, have done it several times, and in the windowpieces.tga file, but I want a way to change the size and tga file for my cursor without modifying the animations file. My question was: Would it be legal for me, in *another* file, to define something as a CursorDefault Item? Or something similar?
aeluin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 07:15 PM   #4
grottel
Grimling Code Editor
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Xev
Posts: 507
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default something to play with

SIDL.doc doesn't list defaults for these elements. However, since there is no assignment made within the DEFAULT UI's XMLs then we can only assume that at a minimum the SIDL EQUI sets the defaults assingment of these suite elements to appropriate animations.

Is it possible to point cursor suite elements to a different animation? unknown


Assuming that the graphics are already defined.
Even if we had a file that defined a new cursor set (druid in this example) or included the body of the code in the EQUI_Template.xml
Quote:
<?xml version = "1.0"?>
<XML ID = "EQInterfaceDefinitionLanguage">
<Schema xmlns = "EverQuestData" xmlns:dt = "EverQuestDataTypes"/>

<SuiteDefault item = "SD_Druid">
<DefaultWindowDrawTemplate>WDT_Def</DefaultWindowDrawTemplate>
<CursorDefault>A_CursorDefault_Druid</CursorDefault>
<CursorResizeNS>A_CursorResizeNS_Druid</CursorResizeNS>
<CursorResizeEW>A_CursorResizeEW_Druid</CursorResizeEW>
<CursorResizeNESW>A_CursorResizeNESW_Druid</CursorResizeNESW>
<CursorResizeNWSE>A_CursorResizeNWSE_Druid</CursorResizeNWSE>
<CursorDrag>A_CursorDrag_Druid</CursorDrag>
</SuiteDefault>
</XML>

The problem remains that there are no function calls to set the SuiteDefault there remains no way to assign our newly defined item.

However, this might be possible since its a global item and technically inherited, it might be possible to define a different cursor set to each window.

Last edited by grottel : 11-26-2002 at 07:27 PM.
grottel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 11:29 PM   #5
aeluin
Denizen of the Interface
 
aeluin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Tholuxe Paelis
Posts: 279
Send a message via AIM to aeluin
Default

this is embarassing but...huh?

er...I kind of see what you're saying...but don't see how I would put it into practice, to test what you're suggesting, unless you're suggesting that I try inserting some variation on the above code into one of my window files?
aeluin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2002, 10:50 AM   #6
grottel
Grimling Code Editor
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Xev
Posts: 507
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

I did emphasis that this is an unknown area. Since the SIDL schema doesn't include any indication of how SuiteDefaults are implemented, it probably isn't even possible. If you want an exact answer as to what to do - nobody has one because this uncharted territory. The only thing you can do is experiement while following the logic of the schema. I simply dont have the patience to load up a EQ (15 minutes) each time I want to test a mod. So I leave it those with 2 machines that can test stuff quickly to sort it out. However, I'm more than happy to share ideas.

One reason why this is a bit of guess for me is how the SIDL.DOC shows the hierarchy of the SUITEDEFAULTS object. Supposedly this has a supratype of CLASS but the hierarchy shows it above the class level. /shrug
grottel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2002, 01:43 AM   #7
aeluin
Denizen of the Interface
 
aeluin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Tholuxe Paelis
Posts: 279
Send a message via AIM to aeluin
Default

thank you
aeluin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI