Quantcast
Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > General Discussion > Help ! ? ! ?
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2002, 07:34 AM   #1
Kahlan
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
Default setting up XML

This may be a stupid question to most, but i just cannot figure it out.

Where to the new XML files go? (we will use downloaded ones in this case)

I have made a new folder, (call it Test), copied all the files out of the default folder under UIfiles. then logged in and hit /load test... (after putting the new downloaded ones in) ..didnt load

I have made a new folder (Named it Test) under the Skins folder, copied all the files from the Everquest/uifiles/default folder, put the new XML's in... logged in and hit /load test... this still did not work.


Can someone just give me some simple instructions on how to get it set up and running please.

Thanks
Kahlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2002, 09:12 AM   #2
buzweaver
A Shissar Disciple
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Bertoxxulous
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to buzweaver
Default

Each of my Chars have different Skins and UI's, I just name them after my Chars, example: BuzzS, BuzzV, BuzzF.
__________________

Retired
BuzzFelinous (26 Bard)
BuzzVar(40 Shaman)
BuzzSilverThor (68 Storm Warder )
buzweaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2002, 10:52 AM   #3
Soladan
A Bat
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1
Default

To set up your own personal XML Files, you need to put your files in the following location:

Example, my Everquest Directory is in Program Files so..

C:\Program Files\Everquest\uifiles\(xmlskindirectoryname)

If you notice, it's not in the Default directory as those files HAVE to remain the same.

So each directory in the uifiles directory can be a new skin.

Does this help you Kahlan?
Soladan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2002, 03:21 PM   #4
Chronwaas
Skinner Extraordinaire
 
Chronwaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Saryrn
Posts: 421
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default Command to load mod

The command to load the mod is /skinload <skin dir name>

Example:
If you copied the default files to another dir called personal

C:\Program Files\Everquest\uifiles\personal

Then the command would look like this:

/loadskin personal
Chronwaas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2002, 07:37 PM   #5
Kahlan
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
Default

no... i've done both of those and the skins still do not load, do i need to copy everything fromt he default file into a new folder into the new folder under the uifiles, then put in the new ones which i downloaded? or just make a folder with the skins that are new?
Kahlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2002, 07:51 PM   #6
Thalmaturgen
A Gray Wolf
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8
Default

To change your skins all you have to do is set up a new folder, we'll use your folder name of test.

After you've made the folder copy all the contents of the default folder into the test folder.

unzip whatever skin you're wanting into the test folder, overwriting the files allready there

log into EQ and type /loadskin test

Viola, you've got a new skin. Simple isn't it?
Thalmaturgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2002, 09:14 PM   #7
Kahlan
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
Default

thanks everyone for your help... i was actually doing it right, i had just downloaded a bad file causing it to have a error loading the default.

thanks for all your input =)
Kahlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI