EQInterface Forums

EQInterface Forums (http://www.eqinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General authoring help / discussion (http://www.eqinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   A new WYSIWYG editor on the horizon. (http://www.eqinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16897)

danny91643 08-24-2005 11:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by assweasel
Well you better get to it soon. Because that dinosaur your going to build will be a fossil pretty soon.

Sorry couldn't resist.

The pun is directed towards

"For one it will run faster" Where you been ? Faster than.... NET? Omg You probably thinking well maybe not that fast. LOL NET is another dinosaur.
"easier to optimize" am laughing harder now.
"more portable with the different windows emulators" What possible college could you be going to??

You must be in jail or something.

You better get your **** together and get yourself into a real school. What your doing is like saying you went to school to get a degree in English and when done all you could speak was Latin.


Oh!! What Editor have you made ?

Dolby 08-25-2005 12:21 AM

Orignal message deleted. There is no ranting or flameing on our boards.

Thanks.

GreenDragon 08-25-2005 01:41 AM

Ok to get this out sooner the first really functional release will need a very strict format. Building in checks for non-strict format takes time. Make sure there are no spaces before or after < and >. If you have "attribute = 'something' " the spaces around the = sign are fine thats is easy to compensate for, but if you had "attribute = ' something ' " then the parser will think those spaces are part of the string unless you want it to have those. If you are places a value between two tags no multilining with the enter key if it wordwraps then fine.
Use
<tag>value</tag>
and not
<tag>
value
</tag>.
This is only so I can get a decent version out sooner. I will add this in later also no multilining with the tags either.
Use
<tag attribute1="val1" attribute2="val2"/>
and not
<tag
attribute1="val1"
attribute2="val2"
/>.
In both examples the syntax is correct and a web browser can read that, but my program won't be able to at first. Please follow these guidelines. I will add in a check so if it doesn't understand it it will let you know exactly where and it wont just crash it just skips it.

assweasel 08-25-2005 01:41 AM

Sorry i wasn't trying to rag on the poster.

What Editor do I use?
Presently I use the editor that comes with Borlands JBuilder enterprise.

But I can use just about any editor that is already out there.
I prefer Java Editors not that I am a big fan of java but for Images animations and displays they just cant be beat.

I edit in XML and xml is everywhere don't fight it join it.
XML is just a container that allows any platform to use its own language to implement the content of the container.

Example from the source of this web page comes.
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

GreenDragon 08-31-2005 11:16 PM

I'm just going to direct you guys to my other post in this thread which is very relevant. http://www.eqinterface.com/forums/s...ead.php?p=86361

rjengel 09-01-2005 11:21 AM

THIS IS MY TRADER PC: (all he does is sit in Baz and sell)
CPU speed: 733Mhz
RAM: 256mb
Operating System: WIN XP V2002
Ticks 1: 39866
Ticks 2: 40099
Ticks 3: 40325
Ticks 4: 40084
Ticks 5: 40041
Ticks per second: 3579545

So what exactly are you asking for these test results for?
So you get an overall Idea of what type of systems are going to be running the program?

blackdragons 09-01-2005 04:10 PM

3 diff systems i have up at all times

CPU speed:celeron 2ghz
RAM:1 gig
Operating System:xp
Ticks 1:23077
Ticks 2:23890
Ticks 3:23388
Ticks 4:23966
Ticks 5:23133
Ticks per second:3579545

CPU speed:amd atholon xp 2600+ ( 2.13 ghz )
RAM:512 mb
Operating System:xp sp2
Ticks 1:12515
Ticks 2:12752
Ticks 3:12760
Ticks 4:12706
Ticks 5:12519
Ticks per second:35779545

CPU speed: p4 2.8 ghz
RAM:512 mb
Operating System:xp sp2
Ticks 1:15093
Ticks 2:15286
Ticks 3:15834
Ticks 4:16246
Ticks 5:15742
Ticks per second:3579545
Note this system had eq running in background

hope these test helps ya

Drakah 09-02-2005 10:02 PM

OH GreenDragon, been meaning to mention this.

Will it be possible to add in some sort of UI INI parser, as well as a default location within the file that it has, that would display the windows relative to the resolution to move windows around (with a zoom feature) without having to go in and out of EQ?

Hope I explained that right...

GreenDragon 09-03-2005 01:02 PM

INI parser will be alot easier than XML. I am gathering these results to see how efficient my algorithum is and how fast it will run. I don't want a person waiting 10 minutes before they even get to look at the first file if you know what I mean. Maybe INI parse will be done before the XML editor because that is so simple I can write that in just a few hours. Later today I will have the newest version of the XML editor out.

Drakah 09-03-2005 01:36 PM

Will be fun to test, looking foward to it.

GreenDragon 09-05-2005 12:10 AM

Sorry about the no post last night, but I hurt my knee playing DDR. I slipped off the pad and smashed my knee really bad it swelled and started bleeding so I went home and slept untill this evening. I'm off to work on it now though.

blackdragons 09-10-2005 04:44 PM

eq types
 
Here's an idea may be stupid i dunno, but what about a dummy file with dummy info in it for the different eq types, so that the editor has something to display to give us a feel for how it will look in game.

Guess a few examples would be, like dummy info for merchant window, aa window, any type of windows that only show info from sonys servers.

It wouldnt have to fill all the space but just a bit to give us the feel 2-3 merchant items, couple aa names/cost etc.

Also on zoom, viewing the final window in editor, would be nice to have a zoom of 100% ( full size in game ), default then be able to zoom in for close up movement of items etc.

I myself know your puting a lot of work into this and I for one wish to thank you for doing it. I hope nothing in DoD slows you down, and from what i see in the files posted on site, is not much changing, only window i see myself losing for the time, is my mini inventory, alrdy updated bank.

Anyway thnx agian for working on this for us all.

Sparxx 10-13-2005 06:30 AM

My Parse
 
CPU speed: 3.0 Ghz
RAM: 1 Gb
Operating System: Windows XP Pro

Ticks 1: 22966141
Ticks 2: 23511727
Ticks 3: 22890637
Ticks 4: 24468330
Ticks 5: 22957717
Ticks per second: 3000200000

I too would be very interested in Beta testing for you, thanks for all the hard work!

Bonechip (AKA Sparxx)

wichall 10-24-2005 03:37 PM

CPU speed: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.21GHz
RAM: 2048mb
Operating System: WIN XP V2002
Ticks 1: 21681
Ticks 2: 13068
Ticks 3: 13320
Ticks 4: 12715
Ticks 5: 13858
Ticks per second: 3579545

Will be happy to beta test :D

Kavrvnwlf 01-12-2006 12:33 AM

is this editor still a hopefull reality... or has if fallen to it's death. any chance on an update on your progress if you are still working on it?

would be nice to have if you are still working on this, if not... well we can all still dream of something will happen oneday ::sigh::

::waiting patiently and hopeful::


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.