Home Forum Downloads My Favorites Register FAQ

Go Back   EQInterface Forums > Developer Discussion > XML modification help.
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2003, 11:21 AM   #1
harliquinn
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default Can Chat Windows have no header/chat bar?

I was curious if it's even possible to have a chat window used only for display purposes, by eliminating the title bar and the char input bar at the bottom? I'd like to have a few screens for spell messages and battle spam, but I'd like to streamline them so they have no header or chat bar at the bottom. Is there a way to do this for only certain windows or does the ChatWindow.xml override all windows?

Thanks!
harliquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 11:36 AM   #2
Talyns
The Tablets Guy
 
Talyns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Server: Lanys
Posts: 520
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Whatever you do in EQUI_ChatWindow.xml. It will affect all chat windows..

You can probably get rid of both but I wouldn't remove the chatedit box.. You won't be able to see what you're typing

To remove the titlebar find this:

<Screen item = "ChatWindow">
<RelativePosition>false</RelativePosition>
<Location>
<X>95</X>
<Y>280</Y>
</Location>
<Size>
<CX>421</CX>
<CY>200</CY>
</Size>
<Style_VScroll>false</Style_VScroll>
<Style_HScroll>false</Style_HScroll>
<Style_Transparent>false</Style_Transparent>
<DrawTemplate>WDT_Def2</DrawTemplate>
<Style_Titlebar>true</Style_Titlebar> <----------change to false


to get rid of the chat input you might/should (never tested) be able to change this:
<Pieces>CW_ChatInput</Pieces>
to:
<!--<Pieces>CW_ChatInput</Pieces>-->

Edit2: On second thought! Removing the piece might cause a warning message, error, or even a crash from game. Thats why I don't know if that way will work or not..
The better way of doing it would be: Mess with the <Anchors> for CW_ChatInput and CW_ChatOutput.. doing it this way shouldn't cause any warnings, errors or crashes

edit: reworded alittle
__________________
Talyns
Lanys Characters:
-Acarrion (51 BST)
-Hawkren (20 SHM)

Last edited by Talyns : 01-15-2003 at 12:24 PM.
Talyns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 01:08 PM   #3
shdwphnx
A Snow Griffin
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 53
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Removing the title bar is an easy & safe change, as Talyns explained how in his post.

Since removing the edit box from all chat windows would definately have undesirable effects (might crash things, but even if it did not crash, it would make it virtually impossible to converse with others in game), I strongly recommend against it. However, like you, I also did not want to see that box on every one of my chat windows. What I did to resolve that is position my extra chat windows so that the edit box is actually off the bottom of my screen.
You can check this screenshot I posted in another thread to see exactly what I mean.


Shadowpheonix
shdwphnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 02:01 PM   #4
harliquinn
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the replies. I figured I couldn't change just one Chat window...but I might be able to get rid of th eheaders, or find a mod with chat windows that are alittle more streamlined.
harliquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 01:52 PM   #5
mooz
A Bat
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1
Default

When i disable the Titlebar on chat windows, how can i move them around then? Cannt find a place to stick the cursor on it
mooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 02:25 PM   #6
Kuririnsama
A Ghoul
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 17
Default

To move the window without a titlebar, you just resize it into position...stretch one side, then shrink it back to size.

~Kuri
Kuririnsama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2003, 09:16 PM   #7
Sylphan
A Predatory Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 254
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Check out the file trimmed.zip which I uploaded in miscellaneous. Rather than removing the title bar I just made it smaller, transparent, and moved up a bit so it's out of the way.

The result is that chat windows appear to have no title bar, but can still be moved by click and drag on the top edge.
Sylphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 02:57 PM   #8
Cozeth
A Bat
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
Default feb 6 patch

Today's patch seems to make impossible to put any window with the bottom off the screen anymore

Anyone found a trick ?

Coz.
Cozeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 04:35 PM   #9
grottel
Grimling Code Editor
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Server: Xev
Posts: 507
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
Default

Scratch around here - someone had previously posted code for a minimalized title area on the chat window. This gave you handle if you wanted to drag it around or right click for options, but it was only 1 or 2 pixels wide so it didn't interfere.
grottel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2003, 08:52 AM   #10
harliquinn
A Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default

For me the issue wasn't the title bar but the 'chat' bar at the bottom (Which I don't need). My goal was to create a simple 'output' window using a chat window (MOst of my other windows are used).
harliquinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI